The Nebraska 4-H Ambassador program now has 10 4-H Ambassadors! 4-H Ambassadors promote 4-H throughout the state by attending 4-H events at the county and state level along with improving their skills through trainings and professional meetings. “The Nebraska 4-H Ambassador program was developed just last year and we at the Nebraska 4-H Foundation are excited to see the program continue to grow with the addition of these outstanding new ambassadors,” stated Stuart Shepherd, Executive Director of the Nebraska 4-H Foundation. Here’s more about the Nebraska 4-H Ambassadors:

TaylerTayler Goertz
Hometown: Bennington, NE
County: Washington
Major: Dance
Minor: Animal Science and Engler Agribusiness
Years in 4-H: 10 years
About Me/4-H Experience: I showed beef cattle for about 3 years, but then I decided to show dogs for the remainder of my 4-H career. I am now a leader for the same 4-H dog club that I grew up in.
Favorite Food: Cheese-Its
Favorite Color: Pink
In 10 years, I hope to be an Occupational Therapist focusing on Animal Assisted Therapy practice.
3 areas of interest: Dogs, Urban Development/Involvement, Community Service

HannahHannah Kesterson
Hometown: Alliance, NE
County: Box Butte
Major: Food Science and Technology
Years in 4-H: 10 years
About Me/4-H Experience: I am currently a freshman at the University of Nebraska, and am a ten year 4-H member. I joined when I was eight, and since then, have had so many great experiences; from showing livestock, to taking static exhibits, to learning life-skills, to traveling across the state and country, to making great friends and unforgettable memories. I especially love the county fair, and am known to refer to it as my favorite holiday and the best week of the year.
Favorite Food: Steak, peanut butter, fresh peaches, the list could go on and on!
Favorite Color: Green
In 10 years, I hope to be living in a rural community and to start a family. I hope to have a successful career and to enjoy whatever it might be.
3 areas of interest (for county extension outreach): Food Science, Meat Goat, Quilting

LaNaeLaNae Maxson
Hometown: Burwell, Ne
County: Garfield
Major: Veterinary Science
Years in 4-H: 13 years
About Me/4-H Experience: My favorite part of 4-H throughout my 13 years was exhibiting all of my animals. Being in the presence of animals is one of my biggest passions, and I have enjoyed the opportunity to raise and work with a variety of species; therefore, I knew very early on exactly what I wanted my future career to be. Through 4-H, not only was I able to demonstrate my passion, but also everything I have learned.
Favorite Food: Apple pie
Color: Purple
In 10 years, I hope to be a successful veterinarian, wife, and mother.
3 areas of interest: Animal exhibition, veterinary science, cooking

brittanyBrittany Spieker
Hometown: Hadar, NE
County: Pierce
Major: Dietetics
Years in 4-H: 10 years
About Me/4-H Experience: A few 4-H projects that I had participated in include sewing garments and quilts, baking, photography, and constructing fun art projects such as acrylic painting. I have also been employed at the Pierce County Extension for the past 3 summers. I help with the summer camps for the 4-Hers and prepare for the Pierce County Fair.
Favorite Food: Spaghetti
Favorite Color: Yellow
In 10 years, I hope to be finished with undergraduate and graduate school. I plan to be a registered Dietitian working as an Extension Educator or working within a clinical setting. I hope to be living in my own home, happily married, and starting my own family. Most importantly, I want to have a happy and fulfilling life surrounded by all the people I love.
3 areas of interest: Dietetics, Baking and Sewing

Katie SiselKatie Sisel
Hometown: Bee, NE
County: Seward
Major: Food Science & Technology
Years in 4-H: 11 years
About Me/4-H Experience: I was raised on a farm right outside of a small town called Bee and I have always had a love for being outside and finding different things to do on the farm. I have been a member of the Staplehurst Livestock 4-H club in Seward County where I have learned many different skills. I have enjoyed taking numerous projects to the fair which include, baking, sewing, horticulture, photography, and my main project, showing swine. I have enjoyed showing swine for the past 11 years and it has taught me many responsibilities.
Favorite Food: Crab Legs
Favorite Color: Orange
In 10 years, I hope to be employed in the area of my study, have a family, and plan vacations to exotic destinations.
3 areas of interest: Swine, Showmanship, Baking

260299_10151362180116890_1930343054_nBeth Cowan
Hometown: Beatrice, NE
County: Gage
Major: Nutrition Science Pre-Med
Years in 4-H: 11 years
About Me/4-H Experience: I sewed and modeled clothes, quilted, and entered many projects in home environment. I participated in the presentation and speech contests for several years. Occasionally I had entries in gardening too.
Favorite Food: Peaches
Favorite Color: Turquoise
In 10 years, I hope to be finishing med school and practicing something in the medical field such as optometry or pediatrics, and hopefully starting a family.

Emily Long
Hometown: Springfield, NE
County: Sarpy
Major: Agricultural Communications
Minor: Entrepreneurship & Leadership
Years in 4-H: 13 years
About Me/4-H Experience: I started participating in 4-H as soon as I was old enough to be a Clover kid and continued on till I finished High School. I grew up on a farm outside of Springfield and showed cattle, sheep, hogs and also participated in static exhibits. 4-H has led me to be more involved in the beef industry and start showing cattle at the State and National Level. 4-H has also inspired me to pursue a degree in agriculture.
Favorite Food: Steak
Favorite Color: Purple
In 10 years, I hope to be running my own business and advocating for agriculture.

claytonClayton Schmitt
Hometown: Ulysses, NE
County: Butler
Major: Agricultural Economics
Years in 4-H: 13 years
About Me/4-H Experience: I started participating in 4-H at the age of five showing hogs at both the county level and state level. I continued showing hogs through high school and I picked up showing cattle the last six years of my 4-H career. As an alumni, I have used my experiences to help others with their 4-H projects. 4-H has given me a hard work ethic, networks and memories that will last a life time.
Favorite Food: Ribeye steak and hash browns
Favorite Color: Blue
In 10 years, I plan on going back to the family farm as well becoming an auctioneer.

Want to keep up with the Ambassadors as they travel around the state working with 4-H? Check out their blog